What are the certifications for the battery?

What are the certifications for the battery?

  • European Union: CE certification, ROHS certification, 206/66/EC certification
  • United States: FCC certification, UL certification
  • Japan: PSE certification
  • South Korea: KC certification

1. What is CE certification?

The CE certification is a safety mark, which is regarded as a passport for manufacturers enter the European market. All products with the “CE” mark can be sold in the EU member states without meeting the requirements of each member state. In this way, the free circulation of commodities in the EU member states is realized.

In the EU market, the “CE” mark is a compulsory certification mark. Whether the product produced by an EU enterprise or other country, if the product wants to be circulated freely in the EU market, it must put the “CE” mark which can indicate the product meets the basic requirements of the EU Directive “New Methods of Technical Coordination and Standardization”. This is a mandatory requirement of EU law on products.

CE certification is a mandatory certification of the European Union, so CE certification is throughout in Europe, including: France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Greece, Portugal, Spain, Austria, Sweden, Finland, Malta, Cyprus, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Bulgaria.

The significance of CE certification is that the use of the CE acronym as a symbol to indicate that the product affixed with CE certification meets the essential requirements of the relevant European directives,and is used to verify that the product has passed the corresponding conformity assessment procedures and manufacturer’s declaration of conformity, has become a passport for the product to be allowed to enter the European Community market. The relevant directives require industrial products to be affixed with the CE mark. Without the CE mark, they should not be sold on the market. Products that have been affixed with the CE mark and entered the market shall be ordered to be retracted from the market if they are found to not meet the safety requirements.And the products continue to violate the relevant CE marking requirements of the directive,it will be restricted or prohibited from entering the EU market or forced to withdraw from the market.

2. What is RoHS certification?

The European Parliament and the European Council have passed the RoHS Directive in January 2003.RoHS, the Restriction of the use of certain Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment, is the directive to restrict the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment, also named as Directive 2020/95/EC.

In 2005, the European Union supplemented 2002/95/EC in the form of 2005/618/EC resolution, clearly stipulating the maximum limit values of six hazardous substances.

The RoHS Directive is a mandatory standard established by EU legislation. Its full name is “Restriction of Hazardous Substances” . The standard has been officially implemented on July 1, 2006, and is mainly used to standardize the material and process standards of electrical and electronic products, making it more conducive to human health and environmental protection.

3. What is FCC certification?

FCC (Federal Communications Commission) was established by Communications Act in 1934. It is an independent agency of the US government and is directly responsible to Congress.The FCC coordinates domestic and international communications by controlling radio broadcasting, television, telecommunications, satellites and cables.Involving more than 50 states in the United States, Colombia, and regions in the United States, in order to ensure the safety of radio and wire communication products related to life and property, the Office of Engineering and Technology of FCC is responsible for the technical support of the committee and is also responsible for equipment recognition matters. Many radio application products, communication products and digital products require FCC approval to enter the US market. The FCC committee investigates and studies the various stages of product safety to find the best way to solve the problem. At the same time, the FCC also includes the testing of radio devices and aircraft. According to the provisions of the relevant parts of the US Federal Communications Regulations (CFR47 Part), all electronic products entering the United States need to be certified for electromagnetic compatibility (except for some products specifically specified in the relevant provisions).

4. What is UL certification?

UL certification was founded by the global testing and certification organization and standard development organization UL Co., Ltd. Since its establishment in 1894, UL has issued nearly 1,800 safety, quality and sustainability standards so far, of which more than 70% have become American national standards, and UL is also the Canadian national standard development agency.

Mainly used in terminal products that consumers can directly buy from the market, such as home appliances, computers, heaters, fuses, power boards, smoke detectors, fire extinguishers and other products. Any product with a UL mark indicates that a representative sample of the product complies with the relevant UL safety standards. This series of flags includes three flags of the United States, Canada and the United States and Canada.

5. What is PSE certification?

PSE certification is a Japanese compulsory safety certification, which is used to prove that electrical and electronic products have passed the safety standard test of the Japanese Electrical and Material Safety Law or the international IEC standard. Japanese DENTORL Law (Electrical Device and Material Control Law) stipulates that 498 products must pass safety certification to enter the Japanese market. Among them, 165 types of A products should obtain the diamond-shaped PSE mark, and 333 types of B products should obtain the round PSE mark.

6. What is KC certification?

KC certification is Korean product testing certification.

KC certification applicable products:household appliances, audio and video products, communication products, lighting products, power supplies, batteries, capacitors, cables, electrical switches, etc.

Back to blog